Over the years, Parker has continued to grow and now boasts a population of more than 52,000. With the prosperity of growth comes the concern for the preservation of our past. Learn more about preserving our hometown feel and Parker's background and history as Pine Grove before it became present day Parker.
From Pine Grove to Parker
Did you know that Parker can trace its history back to 1862? Pine Grove, as it was then known, was a thriving community where many families established dairy farms while others raised cattle and horses. The Town of Parker can trace its beginnings to 1862 when Alfred Butters built a 1-room building in a grove of pine trees about a mile south of the present-day Mainstreet. The cabin became a place to purchase provisions and a refuge for weary travelers along the Cherokee Trail.
Although it was not a post office as we recognize one today, messages and letters could be left there for other travelers. In 1864, the "post office" was sold and moved to the 20 Mile House site near Parker Road and Mainstreet in present-day Parker. The 20 Mile House was the sixth in a series of mile houses, or way stations, on the Cherokee Trail between Denver City and Pine Grove, Parker's original name.
The Cherokee Trail followed Cherry Creek into Denver and brought travelers from many southern and eastern states using the Arkansas River route. Later, the Smoky Hill South Trail, a more direct but problematic route, brought in people from the Missouri River area.
Parker's Planning Commission is charged with hearing historic-related matters which support efforts to safeguard the Town's historic heritage. The Town is also committed to fostering civic pride through education and creating awareness of the Town's unique history and legacy. The Commission is also responsible for recommending to the Town Council historic resources that should be listed as Parker Landmarks.